Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame Announces Third Class of Inductees

The six athletes will be honored at an in-person ceremony this fall.

Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame Inducts Its Third Class
Photo via Pexels by Rodnae Productions

Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame (MCSHF) will induct six new members this year, including a Super Bowl winner, a former PGA Tour commissioner and a women’s college basketball coach.

Meet the class of 2021:

  • Richie Anderson (Sherwood High School) played 11 seasons in the NFL for the New York Jets and Dallas Cowboys, leading all running backs in receptions in 2000 with 88 catches. After retiring, he coached for the Jets, Cardinals and Chiefs.
  • Deane Beman (Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School) has won four PGA Tour tournaments, two U.S Amateur Championships and one British Amateur Championship. During his tenure as commissioner of the PGA Tour, Beman popularized televised golf and created the Senior PGA Tour and the Presidents Cup. He was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2000.
  • Rob Bordley (Landon School) is the fifth most victorious lacrosse coach in the county, winning 655 games in his 42 years as head coach at his alma mater. After earning all-Ivy league honors in lacrosse and football at Princeton, Bordley played rugby with the Washington RFC and the U.S. national rugby team. He is a member of the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame and the U.S. Lacrosse Hall of Fame.
  • Charlene Thomas-Swinson (Montgomery Blair High School) has been coaching women’s basketball for 32 years. Twice a member of the McDonald’s All American roster in high school, Thomas-Swinson went on to play basketball at Auburn University.
  • Greivis Vasquez (Montrose Christian School), a member of the Venezuelan national basketball team, spent seven seasons in the NBA. He started 122 games at the University of Maryland, where won ACC player of the year and the Bob Cousy award for the nation’s best point guard.
  • Mike Curtis (Richard Montgomery High School) was a member of the 1971 Colts Super Bowl winning team. Named AFC defensive player of the year in 1970, Curtis played linebacker in the NFL for 14 seasons and was a four-time Pro Bowler. He passed away on April 20, 2020.

The MCSHF’s mission is to honor and recognize individuals, teams, coaches, managers, organizations and supporters for their contributions through inspiring achievements and leadership in sports in Montgomery County, Maryland and more. The organization seeks to preserve inductees’ stories and support programs and activities through fundraising.

“These men and women have brought recognition and honor to our community in their respective fields,” said MCSHF Board Chair Trish Heffelfinger in a recent press release.

Inductees from the previous two classes include Katie Ledecky, Dominique Dawes, Walter Johnson, Johnny Holliday, Amy Wood and Roy Lester.

An in-person ceremony is planned for Sunday, Oct. 17.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here